Gate Theatre Board and Governance

The Directors of The Edwards Mac Liammóir Dublin Gate Theatre Productions DAC (The Gate Theatre) are:

Sandra Thorpe

Anne-Marie Curran
Fiona Gallagher
Séamus Given
John McDonnell
Jo Mangan
Conor Roche
Oonagh Killeen (Company Secretary)

The Gate Theatre Trust
The Trustees are Myra Garrett, Martin McAleese and Sandra Thorpe.


The Gate Theatre is committed to complying with the recommended guidelines for financial reporting requirements and with the Statement of Guiding Principles for Fundraising as developed by Irish Charities Tax Research Ltd (ICTR). In addition, the Gate Theatre is also committed to good governance and the organisation complies with all regulatory requirements and operates in accordance with its governing document.

The practice of our governance commitment is guided by our Directors’ Code of Conduct which is available to view at this link.

The Gate Theatre keeps detailed books and records of accounts and maintains strict financial controls. The organisation’s latest financial statements are here:

Year ending December 31st, 2017
Year ending December 31st, 2018
Year ending December 31st, 2019
Year ending December 31st, 2020
Year ending December 31st, 2021
Year ending December 31st, 2022

The Gate Theatre Board Directors Biographies

Anne-Marie Curran (appointed 2017)
Anne-Marie Curran has been Managing Director of Drury Porter Novelli since 2010, having joined the agency in 2004. She combines her management role with strategic client support on a wide range of assignments and acts as a senior consultant on many of the firm’s retained accounts. She has worked on several large projects, in particular, those involving litigation and major transactions in the infrastructure, financial services, logistics, and food and beverage sectors.

Anne-Marie is a fellow of the Institute of Public Relations of Ireland, a qualified Business and Life coach and sits on the boards of the Audi Dublin International Film Festival, the Coombe Women and Infants University Hospital, and until recently the Irish Heritage Trust. Anne-Marie holds a certificate in company direction from the Institute of Directors Ireland.

Fiona Gallagher (appointed 2023)
Fiona Gallagher is CEO of Wells Fargo International Bank UC (WFBI). WFBI provides support and services to Wells Fargo’s clients in all European Union and European Economic Area countries. WFBI is a critical part of Wells Fargo’s European and international operations and Fiona joined in October 2019.

In March 2023, Fiona was appointed as President of the Institute of Bankers. In 2022, she was named by Financial News as one of the top 100 most influential women in finance. She also recently served as the first female Chair of the Federation of International Banks (2020-2022). Prior to Wells Fargo, Fiona was Deutsche Bank’s Global Head of Securities Services, and also Chief Country Officer for Deutsche Bank Ireland. At Deutsche, Fiona was responsible for the strategy and operations of the bank’s Global Securities Services division across 30 markets, as well as the 650 person operations, data and technology site in Ireland.

Fiona joined Deutsche Bank in 2004 and held a number of leadership roles including Head of EMEA Coverage for GTB focused on priority financial institutions, Global Head of Relationship Management and Global Head of Private Placements for Capital Markets and Treasury Solutions covering both corporate and financial clients. She served on the Transaction Banking Executive Committee for Deutsche Bank, as well as the Euroclear and Clearstream Client Advisory Boards. Previously Fiona worked in Debt Capital Markets for both Merrill Lynch and Barclays Capital in New York and London.

Fiona sits on several industry boards including the American Chamber of Commerce Ireland, the National Council of Employers and the Financial Services Steering committee for the 30% Club.

Séamus Given (appointed 2019)
Séamus is a solicitor. He has been a partner in Arthur Cox since 1995 where he leads Employment Law Practice.

John McDonnell (appointed 2024)
John McDonnell is a retired partner and former Chairperson of PwC Ireland. In his 39 years with PwC he was the lead audit partner on the firms largest and most complex clients (Financial Services and non-Financial Services). He also provided the full range of advisory services to these entities. He is a recognised corporate governance, risk, regulatory and accounting expert.

His PwC client base included FTSE 100, Irish, UK, German and US listed entities, significant EU financial institutions, Irish pillar banks, government agencies and large private companies.

During his career with PwC he had numerous Irish and Global leadership roles including Chairperson of PwC Ireland Main Board, Member of PwC Ireland Public Interest Board, Chairperson of PwC Global Banking Industry Accounting Committee, Chairperson of PwC Global Impairment Group, Leader of PwC Ireland Financial Services Risk and Regulatory Group, Global Accounting Consulting Services partner and Irish Leader, and PwC Global representative on various committees of  accounting standard setters including the IASB and ASB.

Jo Mangan (appointed 2022)
Jo Mangan is currently the Artistic Director/CEO of The Performance Corporation and is former Director of Carlow Arts Festival, an Arts Council-funded multi-disciplinary festival. From 2015 to 2018, she served as the Chair of the National Campaign for the Arts. Her work has won awards both nationally and internationally, among them a number of Irish Times Theatre Awards. Recent work includes directing for Irish National Opera, the Abbey Theatre, Digital Programme Consultant for The Grand Stretch, and curating the Prague Quadrennial Design Expo for Ireland.

Conor Roche (appointed 2023)
Conor Roche advises international governments and arts organisations on large-scale cultural infrastructure projects and innovation in culture. Conor has worked on some of the world’s most significant cultural infrastructure projects, including the West Kowloon Cultural District, NEOM, and the Shanghai West Bund Cultural Corridor. His work on innovation includes assessing the impact of AI on the Creative Industries for the European Commission, evaluating the Audience of the Future Immersive Technologies Fund for the UK government and designing a framework for developing creative technologies with UK Research and Innovation. Conor was previously the Head of Digital at Roundhouse, London.

Sandra Thorpe (appointed 2019)
Sandra Thorpe is a senior HR Director with expertise in organisational development strategy gained across multinational and public companies including Microsoft, Citigroup, PaddyPower, Cairn Homes PLC, and Korn Ferry. Sandra is currently Chief People Officer of AVIV Group.


Edwards MacLiammoir Dublin Gate Theatre Productions DAC. Registered Office Address: Spencer Dock, North Wall Quay, Dublin 1. Registered in Ireland Company No. 27768. Registered Charity Number CHY 11638